Nomination Deadline is June 15 (12:00am PST)—The Accelerating Science Award Program

There is less than a week for ASAP program award nominations.  This is an opportunity to showcase significant examples of Open Access reuse and to bestow $30,000 to three winners who will be recognized in October at an Open Access Week kickoff event hosted by SPARC and the World Bank. The winners will be those individuals or teams that have used, applied or remixed scientific research – published through Open Accessto innovate and make a difference in science, medicine, business, technology or society as a whole. Anyone who meets the criteria is eligible — scientists, researchers, educators, social services professionals, technology leaders, entrepreneurs, policy makers, patient advocates, public health workers, librarians and students.

Here are some key aspects of the ASAP program:

  • Three top ASAP program awards of $30,000 each
  • Anyone can nominate, individuals can nominate themselves
  • Nominators are anonymous and blinded for the selection process
  • Judges include: Harold Varmus, Agnes Binagwaho, Helga Notwotny, Tim O’Reilly, and Hans Rosling
  • 27 Global sponsors including major sponsors: the Wellcome Trust, PLOS and Google

*For more information on the ASAP program, please visit See also the Program rules at Follow the ASAP Program on Twitter at #SciASAP.

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...
This entry was posted in Publishing. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Nomination Deadline is June 15 (12:00am PST)—The Accelerating Science Award Program

  1. Paul says:

    I always love these science awards. They bring the genius out of all ages and encourage the imagination to stamina and the innovation to succeed.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>