2010 Nobel Prize in Physics Announced

Press Release, 5 October 2010:

The Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences has decided to award the Nobel Prize in Physics for 2010 to

Andre Geim
University of Manchester, UK


Konstantin Novoselov
University of Manchester, UK

“for groundbreaking experiments regarding the two-dimensional material graphene


In 2000, Andre Geim won the Ig Nobel Prize with Michael Berry “for levitating the frog“.  Winning the Nobel Prize for Physics this year makes him the first person to win an Ig Nobel Prize followed by an actual Nobel Prize.  Kostya Novoselov, at the age of only 36, has ample time to start accumulating prizes.  Interesting, all of the youngest Nobel Prize winners have been in physics: Lawrence Bragg in 1915 at the age of 25, Werner Heisenberg in 1932 at the age of 31, Tsung-Dao Lee in 1957 at the age of 31, Carl D. Anderson in 1936 at the age of 31, and Paul A. M. Dirac in 1933 also at the age of 31.

For more information about the 2010 prizes and to leave congratulations to the winners, visit the Nobel website.

From Geoff Brumfiel:

Andre Geim: “When I got the telephone call, I thought, ‘oh shit!'”

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...
This entry was posted in Local News. Bookmark the permalink.

Comments are closed.